FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

<<

kjk

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20 am

Post Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:37 pm

missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

hello,

two issues, not related.

First in the UK Channel map there is something missing in the Dover radar, I don't know why those missing assets have gone, as I would expect that the HSFX mod which includes this map would be complete. The readme for the Channel map in case for a separate install contains some links of additional assets needed, but some links are dead, and besides I don't know what I need to look for. Any ideas?
Image

Another problem is with the mission builder. One of the assets (object 1042) I placed, and after saving the mission I was not able to select this object again, like was possible of course with the other objects I added. Is this a bug in the mission builder, or does this happen with more objects? I haven't yet tried to edit the missionbuilder file and remove the reference to the object by hand, perhaps that's a workaround.
Thanks.
Kristian
Last edited by kjk on Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

WhoDatNotSayin

Posts: 117

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:22 am

Post Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

I've got the same problem with the radar towers, in an up-to-date UP 2.01install. Very odd, as I'd expect all of the component parts to be packaged together.
<<

ton414

User avatar

The First 4.11 Modder

Posts: 485

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:58 pm

Location: España Spain, Málaga Costa del Sol

Post Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:45 pm

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

I don't know, I use HSFX 4.11, Dover's radar station of the English channel 1940-1941 map, it looks like this:

Image
<<

kjk

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:16 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

This is the kind of image I would expect to find. I am using HSFX4.11 too. I used the 1943-1945 map.
I will check the 1940-1 map again. I also posted the creator of this map but haven't had a reply so far.

Radars on 1940-1 map also incomplete.
<<

dunkelgrun

Map Mod Member

Posts: 356

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:51 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:18 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

kjk wrote:

First in the UK Channel map there is something missing in the Dover radar, I don't know why those missing assets have gone, as I would expect that the HSFX mod which includes this map would be complete. The readme for the Channel map in case for a separate install contains some links of additional assets needed, but some links are dead, and besides I don't know what I need to look for. Any ideas?




I'm not sure why you are having this problem; I've previously installed Canon's maps manually, and now use HSFX, and have had no issues with seeing the radar towers. So maybe it has to be a conflict with something else you have installed. Did you put HSFX over a clean version of IL-2 4.9? Both Canon's maps and HSFX ARE complete.

:cheers:
<<

DBG_Kabayo

User avatar

Posts: 72

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:14 pm

Location: Surigao City Surigao Del Norte Mindanao Philippines Islands

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:28 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

This has been a problem since the canon cross channel map and
objects has come out. I use the HSFX 4.11 and I just checked the map in
the FMB and it still is the same as you uys are having problems.
However there is a work around to show the towers. Use the campfires
in buildings that are by or around the radar towers, this will show the
radar towers. :mrgreen:
<<

kjk

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:39 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

DBG_Kabayo wrote:Use the campfires in buildings that are by or around the radar towers...


Thanks, but I am not sure I quite follow your suggestion..
And why did ton414 not have the same problem then I wonder?
<<

DBG_Kabayo

User avatar

Posts: 72

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:14 pm

Location: Surigao City Surigao Del Norte Mindanao Philippines Islands

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:20 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

Hi
Ok I just checked all of my cross channel maps and they show the
radar towers just like yours. As to why ton414 radar towers are like that
I have no ideal. However as I stated before about the work around,
go to your stationary objects list and find airfield campfires,
take the campfires and place them inside the buildings next to or around the radar towers. Once placed inside the buildings, the radar towers will show
up as ton414 did. This has been the work around since these mods and objects came out.
<<

kjk

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:58 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

That solves it thanks, I didn't make the connection between a campfire and an antenna frame. I wonder who came up with this workaround? I don't see what makes these antennas (or other objects?) special that they can't be viewed directly.
<<

WhoDatNotSayin

Posts: 117

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:22 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:49 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

It worked for my UP 2.01 install as well. Thanks for that, all.

The same problem arises on the new DRK_Circus maps (http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,8268.0.html - Normandy maps extended north to include part of the English coast), so it looks like it is the towers themselves at fault, not the map. The campfires only have a limited radius of effect though - depending on the tower radius, you may need more than one to make everything show up.
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:45 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

Good day, everyone


The Mesh command line in the conf.ini file of the main registry of IL-2 can have a direct impact on whether any mesh objects are fully rendered in the simulator. Examples of mesh objects include towers, fences, barbed wire, razor wire, tressel bridges, I-beam bridge supports, and so forth.

Look for this command line in the conf.ini file of IL-2...

(Under [Render_DirectX] or [Render_OpenGL])

MeshDetail=2

You might need to increase graphics to High Quality and go from Trilinear to Anisotropic, though it might not be necessary.

If memory serves me right, then the value should be MeshDetail=2. Making sure that this value is set properly would eliminate one major possibility for the lack of visible tower support members in the British radar system.

Another less likely possibility is that graphics card Control Panel and IL-2 Setup configuration is causing a conflict whereby Mesh is sacrificed because another setting is very high. In this case, the graphics system might be forced to choose which characteristics to render. If you have smooth frame rates, then this possibility does not exist.

My IL-2 Guide covers detailed graphics setting information:

IL-2 Guide for Computers, Benchmarking, Optimizing, Tweaking
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=22314


Fireskull :)
<<

WhoDatNotSayin

Posts: 117

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:22 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:19 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

Thanks, Fireskull, I'll look into that. Thinking about it, I have thought that fences etc look odd on occasion.
<<

kjk

Posts: 8

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20 am

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:40 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

Yes thanks Fireskull. As for the settings (still) using Directx the MeshDetail is set to 2 all right, all graphics settings are set to maximum and having smooth frame rates, however in the Video tab of the setup utility the Texture mipmap filter was set to bilinear while I had set it to anisotropic. Don't know what made it reset.
Haven't read your optimisation guide in detail, plan to do so. Thanks.
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:55 am

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

kjk wrote:Yes thanks Fireskull. As for the settings (still) using Directx the MeshDetail is set to 2 all right, all graphics settings are set to maximum and having smooth frame rates, however in the Video tab of the setup utility the Texture mipmap filter was set to bilinear while I had set it to anisotropic. Don't know what made it reset.
Haven't read your optimisation guide in detail, plan to do so. Thanks.


Hi,

In order to make your conf.ini file settings stay:

1) Make all IL-2 Setup settings, graphics control panel settings, and conf.ini settings.

2) Next, right click on your conf.ini file icon, click Properties, and a window will appear with the option at the bottom to make the file or folder READ ONLY. This means that if you select the READ ONLY, then nothing can be changed in the conf.ini file by your system.

3) After using READ ONLY, you must undo it before making any changes related to IL-2. After you make the changes, simply reset the READ ONLY.

4) Be sure to push the APPLY button near the READ ONLY check box.


Only Anisotropic and Force Mipmaps: NONE will allow the best graphics image for IL-2. The best water that you see in screenshots and YouTube videos of IL-2 are only achievable with these settings and a few more.

All of this is covered in my IL-2 Guide, which has the link in my previous post.


Clinton :)
<<

NIGHTFIGHTER

Posts: 57

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:58 pm

Location: NORFOLK ENGLAND

Post Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:04 pm

Re: missing asset in UK Channel map, and a MB issue

Hi DGB, can i just check something out with you, ive had this problem for ages, Do you mean Move the Airfield campfires from the Staionary ini, file to the canon Radar in the static ini, file ? Sorry if i appear a dumbass thats because i am. Many thanks Gary :-?
Next

Return to HSFX Forum.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.