FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Freeze on Andalusia-Map

<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:33 pm

Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Apollo_13 wrote:UP~Boomer has fixed the lock up on the Andalucia map in HSFX 5, and posted a fix over at SAS

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/t ... 8.html#new

It has absolutely nothing to do with sink holes on a map,no such thing
and nothing is being hidden on the map lol

Just something wrong with the way the load.ini was edited


[Edited by Fireskull]


[In response to original post...]

Hi all,

I found a strange bug (HSFX 5.0.1): Using the Andalusia-map, sitting in a Spit Vb 1941 on the Gibraltar runway facing West (270°). Looking forward (W, 270°) and left (South to SE, 270° to 100°) is fine, but when turning the view to the right, the screen freezes at about 10° (NNE to N). Always. Hitting Esc twice gets me out of the game and back in again. But the screen always freezes when I look in that direction.

What is there that I am not supposed to see?

oj123
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:26 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

oj123 wrote:Hi all,

found a strange bug (HSFX 5.0.1): Using the Andalusia-map, sitting in a Spit Vb 1941 on the Gibraltar runway facing West (270°). Looking forward (W, 270°) and left (South to SE, 270° to 100°) is fine, but when turning the view to the right, the screen freezes at about 10° (NNE to N). Always. Hitting Esc twice gets me out of the game and back in again. But the screen always freezes when I look in that direction.

What is there that I am not supposed to see?

oj123



Hi,

This could be RAM being full or nearly so. It is possible that you have a corrupt file in IL-2, but very unlikely in this instance.

Control settings by be missing a command for the line of that view. (See the Controls settings.)

Sometimes resetting all the Control configuration will fix view problems. Make a copy and paste of your current one if you wish to preserve a record of your previous settings. Plug them into Controls after you reset the list.


:)

Fireskull
<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Hi Fireskull,

tested it in FMB (Enter on map) and a mate tested it on his rig: same effect (so probably not a ram, corrupt file problem)

Asked at 242 sqadron: They say it's most likely a map error (see this post).

I am not sure, that I understand you here:
Control settings by be missing a command for the line of that view. (See the Controls settings.)
What control settings do you mean? "conf.ini"? "\Users\...\settings.ini"? BTW: I am using Freetrack with Wii remote

Artist
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:53 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Hi,


Well, there might be an FPS hole when viewing in that direction.

Hopefully, the gliches can be fixed sooner rather than later.



Fireskull
<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:26 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Hi,

what is a "FPS hole"?

Fireskull wrote:Hopefully, the gliches can be fixed sooner rather than later.
At 242 Squadron they made me little hope...

Artist
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:15 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

oj123 wrote:Hi,

what is a "FPS hole"?

Fireskull wrote:Hopefully, the gliches can be fixed sooner rather than later.
At 242 Squadron they made me little hope...

Artist



An FPS hole is where your FPS "sinks" severely at a particular point on the map because of the convergence of performance demands of all the 3D at that spot. All around that point, performance would be normal because graphics demand is evenly spread in those areas. Sometimes people call this an FPS sink hole where demands converge unexpectedly at a point on the map.

It is very difficult for one person - the map maker - to fly his entire map at every low altitude to test for FPS sink holes, so only a dedicated team of beta testers would have a good chance of catching all of them.


Fireskull
<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:25 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Thank you very much for the explanation...

I found an agracier (the maker of this map?) at m4t, I'll send him a pm...

Artist
<<

Apollo_13

Posts: 65

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:37 pm

Post Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:24 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

UP~Boomer has fixed the lock up on the Andalucia map in HSFX 5, and posted a fix over at SAS

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/t ... 8.html#new

It has absolutely nothing to do with sink holes on a map,no such thing
and nothing is being hidden on the map lol

Just something wrong with the way the load.ini was edited
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Sat Apr 23, 2011 11:28 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Apollo_13 wrote:UP~Boomer has fixed the lock up on the Andalucia map in HSFX 5, and posted a fix over at SAS

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/t ... 8.html#new

It has absolutely nothing to do with sink holes on a map,no such thing
and nothing is being hidden on the map lol

Just something wrong with the way the load.ini was edited



That's very nice of you, Apollo_13.



Fireskull
<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:07 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Good news!

Applied the fix and tested it.... Cool! Works!

But..., Cat was right when he wrote here: "Even if it behaved normally you'd never get a Spitfire off the Gibraltar runway - it isn't flat! The runway plates are sticking up into the air."

Yes: There's one spot about two thirds down the runway (going from East to West) where the plates jump about 1m and prevent any successful takeoff... How to fix *that*?

Artist
<<

Apollo_13

Posts: 65

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:37 pm

Post Wed Apr 27, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Now the map does not lock up
you could use unlocked FMB to fix the runway
<<

oj123

User avatar

Posts: 6

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:37 pm

Post Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:18 am

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Apollo_13 wrote:Now the map does not lock up
you could use unlocked FMB to fix the runway

Yeeees..., I never did a map..., just scanned the tutorial from KevinP..., I'll give it a try...

Artist
<<

zoomar

Posts: 1

Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:00 pm

Post Fri May 20, 2011 2:13 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

I had exactly the same situation arise a week ago as I was just examining Gibraltar before working on a mission in the FMB. I had to end IL2 and reboot, and after that my QMB no longer worked! I ended up having to reload a fresh copy of IL2HSFX5.1 I keep on a removable hard disk. Now I stay away from Gibraltar like the plague. It's evil.
<<

ton414

User avatar

The First 4.11 Modder

Posts: 485

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:58 pm

Location: España Spain, Málaga Costa del Sol

Post Fri May 20, 2011 3:13 pm

Re: Freeze on Andalusia-Map

Have you applied the fix of Boomer?

Return to HSFX Forum.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.