FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

IL-2 online, friends can't connect

<<

RudyFaasse

Posts: 25

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:04 pm

Post Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:53 pm

IL-2 online, friends can't connect

Since i have a new pc with windows 7 on it, my friends can't connect to me anymore. I already forwarded my ports (I know how it works)

Anyone know how to solve this problem?
Thanks in advance.

Regards,

RudyFaasse
<<

HansHansen

User avatar

Posts: 167

Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 4:56 am

Post Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:48 pm

maybe router?
<<

nuk3m

User avatar

Posts: 268

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:32 pm

Post Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:35 pm

rudy your router has different ip than that of your pc, you have to go to your router setting and clone your MAC address so that both your router and computer uses the same ip, having diffrent ip in the router causes the problem you mentioned
<<

Plantoid 1

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 198

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:19 pm

Post Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:12 pm

Hi all:

nuk3m:

Can you point me in the right direction for exact instructions as to how to do this? I'm about to run into the same problem having just built this computer and want to join up with my buddy in the very near future. The last time I did this - three years ago - was with the help of fella who has since become, shall we say, indisposed and can't help.

I'm using a Linksys router.

Thanks a million in advance.

Great days all.
<<

RudyFaasse

Posts: 25

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:04 pm

Post Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:12 pm

I thought i already did it good.. i know the Router gots another IP then my PC previous time with my old PC it worked, and other games also work to host (Company of Heroes worked) with my new PC.

Image
<<

US_GRANT

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 948

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 2:29 pm

Location: Virginia, USA

Post Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:19 pm

Hey Rudy, Try changing your port from 2100 to 21000. That is the port the game uses.
<<

8FS_Bulau

Posts: 1037

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:24 pm

Post Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm

Well, you already have the port range from 20500 to 28960 forwarded under the COD UO entry, so there should be no need to forward 21000 separately. Heck, you have port range 6112 to 30260 forwarded under COH entry, which pretty much covers everything. Why do these games need so danged many ports?

There must be something else blocking the connection, like antivirus, or software firewall. What about the Windows firewall...you need to do the same thing there. Does your router also need to have an exception for the specific application, i.e. il2fb.exe ?
<<

RudyFaasse

Posts: 25

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:04 pm

Post Fri Dec 25, 2009 2:40 pm

I've taken a look and my Firewall isn't blocking it.. Also, I still can't host.. it's very strange.. I am really stuck on it now. I have tried thousands of things lol. It doesn't even work with hamachi while I am sure how that works. Now i can't play my own made coop missions with my friend anymore lol, shame.

Any other people who have any ideas how to solve this??

Thank you ;-)
<<

8FS_Bulau

Posts: 1037

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:24 pm

Post Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:32 am

Maybe describe how your friends are trying to connect...Hyperlobby, direct IP?
JI'm sure it is something simple we have overlooked.

Hamachi has been known to cause this sort of problem, so make sure you have it disabled when you are hosting by other means.
<<

RudyFaasse

Posts: 25

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:04 pm

Post Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:14 pm

First we tried to join with direct IP in the IL-2 main menu. Later we tried Hamachi but that still didn't work. ( I know how to do the setup for hamachi etc to get games working with it, like getting hamachi above LAN, for the people who know where I'm talking about) That didn't work so i did the controls back to normal (close hamachi, put lan back above hamachi) Now we tried Hyperlobby but also that failed.

A very strange problem. I'm stuck at it.

Also @ my firewall, you have some rules for games etc, i made a new ''rule'' put it on ports and made the rule that 21000 21000 where allowed for IL-2. Still no succes.
<<

cjramze

Posts: 10

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:01 pm

Post Mon Dec 28, 2009 1:00 am

You have way too many ports open there.
Reset your router to factory defaults and setup the port JUST for IL2
Reboot the router and the machine, Make sure your IP Matches the one listed for your forwarded ports.
Try again.

Forget Hamachi, if its not working with the standard setup it wont work with Hamachi (Trust me we've spend hours with it)

If it still persists turn off your windows firewall and your Anti-Virus/Firewall.
<<

OnN2nN5

Posts: 1

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:47 pm

Post Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:07 pm

cjramze wrote:Forget Hamachi, if its not working with the standard setup it wont work with Hamachi (Trust me we've spend hours with it)...


I too suffered the pain of knocking my head on the desk trying to make HAMACHI work and, like most friggin' comp issues, the solution was simple and logical once you know it.

Open your conf.ini and under NET set localHost= to your hamachi ip. Other players need to set it to THEIR hamachi ip's.

Connect your hamachi's, someone start a game and everyone else search for a local game.
<<

Tailspin45

Posts: 10

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 9:39 am

Post Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:11 pm

Re: IL-2 online, friends can't connect

Struggled with IL2 MP connectivity after returning to IL2 because of fabulous IL2 1956 (The Jet Era). One friend with XP could connect with IP address, one with Win 7 could connect with Hamachi. We even tried Tunngle (not ready for prime time by a long shot) and it didn't work either. Worse, after we tried Tunngle, nothing worked.

SOLVED. Go to Network Connection:Advanced and move whatever network adapter you want to use (IP, Hamachi, Tunngle) to top of list. My XP friend could connect to me with IP because that was top of his list. My Win 7 friend could connect via Hamachi because that was top of his list. They couldn't connect with either IP or Hamachi when Tunngle was top of list. Once we all had IP as top adapter we had no further problems.

Return to IL2 Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.