FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

<<

HusarDerLuft

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 153

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:34 am

Post Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:19 pm

Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

How do you add enemy aces to the Quick Mission Builder list of planes,..as well as make some appear in the Dynamic Campaign / Career. ?


many thanks.
<<

skyomish

User avatar

Posts: 893

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:10 pm

Post Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:54 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

Set their SKILL LEVEL to ace on opening page in QMB.
<<

HusarDerLuft

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 153

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:34 am

Post Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

That's not what I asked dude.. I'm no noob..

I want to know how to add more planes to the aces list which is in the QMB..each with a skin of its own

also how to add more enemy aces in Campaign each with his own skin as well.


If you dont know, just say so
<<

KG64_Cnopicilin

User avatar

Mod Member

Posts: 5044

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:57 am

Location: Finland

Post Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:58 am

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

Change the skins in the QMB if you want different for every plane :roll:
<<

HusarDerLuft

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 153

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:34 am

Post Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:58 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

That's not what I asked..

In the list of planes (in the Quick mission builder) there are several aces you can pick a fight with..
(Durand Yak-9T, Rudel's Stuka, Hartman's Me 109 etc..)

How do I edit this list add new aces, remove them ..change their default skin....etc
What file edits this list? Where are their default skins located?

This is not a simple question - I was hoping there is a pro here who knows.

Look in the game manual - it even says you can edit the aces and even the ones in the Game Campaign.. - but it does not explain you how-
<<

{HVY-E}Jinxx

User avatar

Site Administrator

Posts: 1239

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:26 pm

Location: Ft. Lewis, WA.

Post Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:29 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

Husar,

You will have to edit the .mis file manually to add the appropriate plane.
You can also edit the plane skin from there as well.

Ensure you use the correct name for the specific plane (ace) that you want. I would suggest creating a solo mission using the planes you want, then open that .mis file and look at the name for the plane. Then just cut and paste into the template that you are making for the QMB.

As for the dynamic campaign, I'm not really sure as I'm not really a Dynamic Campaign builder, but the process should be similar. Main difference that I know of is you have to edit the plane data base for the campaign.

Hope that explains it for you. Let me know if you need more help and if I have time, I can make you a step by step.

S!
<<

HusarDerLuft

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 153

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:34 am

Post Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:46 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

{HVY-E}Jinxx wrote:Husar,

You will have to edit the .mis file manually to add the appropriate plane.
You can also edit the plane skin from there as well.

Ensure you use the correct name for the specific plane (ace) that you want. I would suggest creating a solo mission using the planes you want, then open that .mis file and look at the name for the plane. Then just cut and paste into the template that you are making for the QMB.

As for the dynamic campaign, I'm not really sure as I'm not really a Dynamic Campaign builder, but the process should be similar. Main difference that I know of is you have to edit the plane data base for the campaign.

Hope that explains it for you. Let me know if you need more help and if I have time, I can make you a step by step.

S!


That's very helpful Jinxx-
Where are the .mis file(s) located? Explain to me more if you have time.
All I want is to have more 'enemy aces' appear randomly throughout your career and use my custom skins of which I have so many of them.
I would also like to add more ships for example (from those I downloaded from SAS) to the list of random objects the computer generates for each mission. If you know how..
at least we're getting somewhere here :)
<<

HusarDerLuft

User avatar

Skin Mod Member

Posts: 153

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:34 am

Post Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

Here is what the game manual says -
It does not give you any further explanation

Image

-this is exactly what I want to do-
(why didn't they explain it further?!) :oops:
<<

{HVY-E}Jinxx

User avatar

Site Administrator

Posts: 1239

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:26 pm

Location: Ft. Lewis, WA.

Post Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:12 am

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

What you're asking about involves what I was talking about with regards to the campaign database and this is where, as I said, my knowledge wains.
You best bet for answers is going to be to try and post over at Lowengrin's site.

http://www.lowengrin.com/news.php

There are also DETAILED help files here.

http://www.lowengrin.com/content.php?article.cat.8

Here you will find answers to anything dynamic campaign related.

Hope that helps some.

S!
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4183

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:17 pm

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

Hello, everyone


This was made a Sticky Topic, at least temporary.








Fireskull :)
<<

wheelsup_cavu

User avatar

Posts: 74

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:20 pm

Location: Riverside County, California

Post Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:27 am

Re: Adding enemy aces to QMB & Campaign

HusarDerLuft wrote:How do you add enemy aces to the Quick Mission Builder list of planes,..as well as make some appear in the Dynamic Campaign / Career. ?


many thanks.

At this time you can not edit the QMB list in the stock version of the sim and add new Aces.

HusarDerLuft wrote:Here is what the game manual says -
It does not give you any further explanation

Image

-this is exactly what I want to do-
(why didn't they explain it further?!) :oops:

In the DGen folder there are several DB files for the campaigns. This is where you can add Aces for the campaign. The DB files can be opened and edited with Notepad.
Default location: C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\DGen\(DB filename)

There are up to 5 pieces of information needed for each Ace.
  1. Plane .mis file name (I_16TYPE24SAFONOV)
  2. ??? Possibly the name that is shown in the briefing (I_16TYPE24)
  3. The Aces squadron. Use the same name as the .mis file. (120IAP)
  4. The Aces Name. Any name will work. (Safonov)
  5. Skin or skins for the ace (skin:$Hans_Philipp.bmp $Hans_Philipp(Winter).bmp)
    The skin names go directly below the Aces name that utilizes them in the listing. I used Kraft's skins instead of Safonov's since he is using more than one.

Finland41.DB
Finland41.DB wrote:[Aces]
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 Stab_JG54 Nowotny
skin:Walter_Nowotny.bmp
BF_109F2 BF_109F2 Stab_JG54 Trautloft
skin:$Hannes_Trautloft(Brown).bmp
BF_109F2 BF_109F2 Stab_JG54 Philipp
skin:$Hans_Philipp.bmp $Hans_Philipp(Winter).bmp
BF_109F2 BF_109F2 Stab_JG54 Bob
skin:$Hans-Ekkehard_Bob.bmp
BF_109F2 BF_109F2 I_JG5_1 Krafft
skin:$Heinrich_Krafft.bmp $Heinrich_Krafft(Winter).bmp
YAK_1 YAK_1 120IAP Avdeyev
I_16TYPE24 I_16TYPE24 120IAP Shestakov
I_16TYPE24SAFONOV I_16TYPE24 120IAP Safonov
MIG_3POKRYSHKIN MIG_3EARLY 120IAP Pokryshkin


Crimea41.DB
Crimea41DB wrote:
[Aces]
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 II_JG77 Setz
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 II_JG77 Hackl
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 II_JG77 Mader
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 4_JG52 Steinhoff
BF_109E7 BF_109E7 III_JG5_2 Graf
skin:Hermann_Graf.bmp
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 III_JG5_2 Grislawski
BF_109F4 BF_109F4 III_JG5_2 Steinbatz
BF_109E7 BF_109E7 III_JG77 Omert
YAK_1 YAK_1 239IAP Fedoseyev
YAK_1 YAK_1 239IAP Khalutin
YAK_1 YAK_1 239IAP Shevchuk
YAK_1 YAK_1 239IAP D. Glinka
YAK_1 YAK_1 6GvIAP Avdeyev
LAGG_3SERIES4 LAGG_3SERIES4 239IAP Kozachenko


Crimea44DB
Crimea44DB wrote:[Aces]
BF_109G6LATE BF_109G6LATE II_JG5_2 Barkhorn
skin:$Gerhard_Barkhorn.bmp
BF_109G6 BF_109G6 II_JG5_2 Ewald
skin:$Heinz_Ewald.bmp
BF_109G6 BF_109G6 II_JG5_2 Lipfert
skin:$Helmut_Lipfert.bmp
FW_190A5 FW_190A5 I_StG2 Lambert
skin:August_Lambert.bmp
BF_109G6LATE BF_109G6LATE III_JG5_2 Rall
BF_109G6LATE BF_109G6LATE III_JG5_2 Krupinski
YAK_9D YAK_9D 6GvIAP Grib
skin:$Grib22.bmp
P_39Q15RECHKALOV P_39Q1 16GvIAP Rechkalov
P_39Q1 P_39Q1 16GvIAP Pokryshkin
P_39Q1 P_39Q1 16GvIAP D. Glinka
P_39Q1 P_39Q1 16GvIAP B. Glinka
LAGG_3SERIES66 LAGG_3SERIES66 120IAP Ahmet-Khan



Wheels

Return to IL2 Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.