FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC

<<

Nadia

User avatar

Mod Member

Posts: 405

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:12 pm

Location: Canada

Post Sat May 28, 2011 9:47 am

THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC

As you should know, mods are installed in a MODS file, and now at SAS they are put in a #SAS file (Act3.02--->Act3.06+).

The way to add new features to UP3 is the #UP# file, and works the same.

The most important file in which to implement mods in UP 03 RC, when Ultrapack 3 version is selected:
( Originally inspired from an answer to a query posted by BOOMER )

#UP#

Download here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?385wtcimt9981e9

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Update: a similar file is also available in the original torrent download of UP3 RC: #UP#SampleFolder.rar
Last edited by Nadia on Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:54 pm, edited 9 times in total.
<<

Fireskull

User avatar

Posts: 4236

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:11 pm

Location: Milky Way Galaxy, Sun System, Earth, USA...Somewhere roaming in the mid-west of America! LOL!

Post Sat May 28, 2011 10:27 am

Re: THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC by BOOMER

Hi, Nadia


Guys get basic instruction for starting to add mods to UP 3.0 RC ... by Nadia


I made this a Sticky Topic - thank you.

Thank you, Boomer, as well. :wink:




Fireskull
<<

Stubbs

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:08 pm

Post Mon May 30, 2011 6:48 am

Re: THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC by BOOMER

Nadia wrote:As you should know, mods are installed in a MODS file, and now at SAS they are put in a #SAS file (Act3.02 and Act3.04b).

The way to add new features to UP3 is the #UP# file, and works the same. ( Not included in the TORRENT install ).

The most important file in which to implement mods in UP 03 RC, when UP 03 mode version is selected:

#UP#

Download here (don't let the "MAP" title fool you, this is it):

http://www.mediafire.com/?psp44dv25ti4iba

Big thanks to Boomer. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

please report broken link.



That's funny because I made a "MODS" folder and had no problems and been flying offline and online using the many mods that I have. I never downloaded modact which is what I think you are referring to. So i kept all my UP stuff and just re-installed or extracted mods into my MODS folder. Like I said, I'm able to play SAS offline content and UP3.0 test servers. I'd love the feedback on this because maybe there is something I'm not understanding about this post. Thanks and S!
<<

Nadia

User avatar

Mod Member

Posts: 405

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:12 pm

Location: Canada

Post Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC by BOOMER

Stubbs wrote:That's funny because I made a "MODS" folder and had no problems and been flying offline and online using the many mods that I have. I never downloaded modact which is what I think you are referring to. So i kept all my UP stuff and just re-installed or extracted mods into my MODS folder. Like I said, I'm able to play SAS offline content and UP3.0 test servers. I'd love the feedback on this because maybe there is something I'm not understanding about this post. Thanks and S!


Not sure I understand correctly, but if you are talking of creating a MODS folder in UP3, that should normally apply to "Classic Mod Game" version...
If you say these work in "Ultrapack 3" mode, then I am surprised of that...

...since I did use SAS Modact 2.72 in "Classic Mod Game" mode for test, and after that MODS functioned only in that particular mode,
then the #SAS# functioned only with "SAS modact 3" mode, and #UP# only with "Ultrapact 3" mode...
Perhaps you're MODS function because you have no classic installation.
<<

Nadia

User avatar

Mod Member

Posts: 405

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:12 pm

Location: Canada

Post Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:20 am

Re: THE MOD FILE for modding in UP 03RC by BOOMER

Stubbs wrote:That's funny because I made a "MODS" folder and had no problems and been flying offline and online using the many mods that I have. I never downloaded modact which is what I think you are referring to. So i kept all my UP stuff and just re-installed or extracted mods into my MODS folder. Like I said, I'm able to play SAS offline content and UP3.0 test servers. I'd love the feedback on this because maybe there is something I'm not understanding about this post. Thanks and S!


I ran a check on that, and here is what I found: if you select game mode ULTRAPACK 3, UP3 does pick up its mods in #UP# only;
however if you select classic mod game it does run like being in UP3 mode still, (if not using a modact), but picks up its mods from MODS file.

Which brings up ( here is that word again ) the question what kind of STD file and MAPMODS file do you put in MODS ?

Obviously if you transfer and STD or MAPMODS from a previous game, you should reduce your UP3 capabilities to that level, say 4.10m or 4,101m lone.

The reason being that an air.ini from another game would not activate the new planes from UP3; but if no STD is used you do have the UP3 planes presently!

Conclusion: it does demonstrate that if no modact is used in classic mode, the game loads same as UP3 until it is changed into something else.

Good point anyway ! Thanks.

Update: "classic mode" and it's MODS file is also the place for HSFX installation and HSFX modding.

Return to UltraPack Forum.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.