FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

get plane's coordinates ?

<<

Tex-Twil

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm

Post Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:38 am

get plane's coordinates ?

Hi,
so I finally managed to compile my 1st dummy mod which does nothing and now I start the real work.

The question is now can I can the plane's current coordinates ? I had a look in the FlightModel class (World.getPlayerFM()) but I'm not sure which method from there I should use. Are those two values the plane position:

  Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y


If yes, what is the origin of the 3D space ?

regards,
tex
<<

Tex-Twil

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm

Post Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:35 pm

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

So when I am using this, I get values like
  Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x: 6293.14
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y: 51846.13


What is the origin point of those values ? ?
<<

Tex-Twil

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm

Post Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:17 am

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

Tex-Twil wrote:So when I am using this, I get values like
  Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x: 6293.14
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y: 51846.13


What is the origin point of those values ? ?


Those are meters from the south-west corner of the map.

A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.
<<

Deutschmark

User avatar

Site Administrator

Posts: 6353

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:15 pm

Location: Germany

Post Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:39 am

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

Tex-Twil wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.


I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark
<<

Tex-Twil

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm

Post Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:50 am

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

Deutschmark wrote:
Tex-Twil wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.


I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark

I've just had a look but found nothing. Maybe I can ask there.
<<

Tex-Twil

Posts: 30

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm

Post Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:51 am

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

Tex-Twil wrote:
Deutschmark wrote:
Tex-Twil wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.


I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark

I've just had a look but found nothing. Maybe I can ask there.


Using the SFS Extractor I can get the high res maps ;) The labels are not there but it's a start.

here is an example

Image

The next step is how to get the name of the currently played map
<<

Lonestar

User avatar

Map Mod Member

Posts: 489

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:02 pm

Location: Germany

Post Sat Jan 07, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: get plane's coordinates ?

Hi,
I think, the easiest way is to create a mission in FMB and then open the certain .mis file with the an editor!
The name of the map is in the second line after "map":

[MAIN]
MAP Mapname

Hope it helps!

Return to MOD Creation Tutorials and Assistance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.