All-Aircraft-Simulations
get plane's coordinates ? - Printable Version

+- All-Aircraft-Simulations (https://allaircraftsimulations.com)
+-- Forum: IL2 Work In Progress MODS Download & Discussion (https://allaircraftsimulations.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=268)
+--- Forum: MOD Creation Tutorials and Assistance (https://allaircraftsimulations.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=312)
+--- Thread: get plane's coordinates ? (/showthread.php?tid=74506)



get plane's coordinates ? - Tex-Twil - 06.01.2012

Hi,
so I finally managed to compile my 1st dummy mod which does nothing and now I start the real work.

The question is now can I can the plane's current coordinates ? I had a look in the FlightModel class (World.getPlayerFM()) but I'm not sure which method from there I should use. Are those two values the plane position:

Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y

If yes, what is the origin of the 3D space ?

regards,
tex


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Tex-Twil - 06.01.2012

So when I am using this, I get values like
Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x: 6293.14
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y: 51846.13

What is the origin point of those values ? ?


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Tex-Twil - 07.01.2012

Tex-Twil Wrote:So when I am using this, I get values like
Code:
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.x: 6293.14
World.getPlayerFM().Loc.y: 51846.13

What is the origin point of those values ? ?

Those are meters from the south-west corner of the map.

A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Deutschmark - 07.01.2012

Tex-Twil Wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.

I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Tex-Twil - 07.01.2012

Deutschmark Wrote:
Tex-Twil Wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.

I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark
I've just had a look but found nothing. Maybe I can ask there.


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Tex-Twil - 07.01.2012

Tex-Twil Wrote:
Deutschmark Wrote:
Tex-Twil Wrote:A new question: how can I get the name of the current map ? Or even better, is there a way to get the 2D picture of the IL2 maps ? The one that is displayed when I open the pilots map in game.

I would think if you looked in the map part of the site you might
be able to find something there about that.

Deutschmark
I've just had a look but found nothing. Maybe I can ask there.

Using the SFS Extractor I can get the high res maps Wink The labels are not there but it's a start.

here is an example

[Image: ed_m01.png]

The next step is how to get the name of the currently played map


Re: get plane's coordinates ? - Lonestar - 07.01.2012

Hi,
I think, the easiest way is to create a mission in FMB and then open the certain .mis file with the an editor!
The name of the map is in the second line after "map":

[MAIN]
MAP Mapname

Hope it helps!