I need a laptop for IL2 COD, any advice ?

Hi Mates,

I need a new laptop now. I am just beginning to see what is on the market.

I saw an Asus N56VZ-S3087V 15,6" LED Blu-Ray, Nvidia GeForce GTX660M Graphic card, Intel i7, 2,3GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX660M

Or an Asus N56VZ-S3087V 15,6" LED Blu-Ray, Intel Core i7-3610QM, 3,3 GHz, 8 Go, stockage : 1 To, NVIDIA Geforce GT650M

I really don't know if it will be ok for IL2 COD, with great settings.

BTW : would it be possible to play il2 COD, IL2 1946 last UP and Rise Of Flight on a Macbook, and if yes with which one ?

Thanks for advising me !!!!

Ted Big Grin

Hi, Ted

First, the issue of 64-bit verses 32-bit might give you huge problems when it comes time to consider 32-bit and 64-bit programs. Some programs absolutely run only in a 32-bit or a 64-bit system. :!: The good part is that CoD, RoF, and IL-2 1946 will run best in 64-bit. The bad part is that some software applications only run in 32-bit so there might be a conflict if you want to run a 32-bit program in the same system as your 64-bit Operating System. The three simulators themselves should run well in 64-bit, though you might need to do a few things for this to happen.

I'm sure you know that a dedicated graphics card is a must to handle all those programs with good image and performance.

PC and Macs will run any of those flight simulators quite well if you get compatible specifications and you are willing to do some work with configuring the programs and possibly handling drivers.

A 1333 Mhz DDR-3 or better is a must for running all of those programs with good performance. Try to get DDR-5 if you can.

If price is very important, then you probably will lean toward a PC with ATI/AMD graphics card. If I were not concerned with money, then I would get a high end Mac with NVIDIA 650 or higher running 64 - bit Bootcamp for XP, but extra tasks will be required to get all those programs running well.