- lowfighter - 24.01.2008
I have them. Just extracted long ago all the sfs files. So i don't know which specific archive. It would be cool to have some damage for trees...
- spud - 24.01.2008
I tried making up a mat since I didn't have one. set the visual limit to 10000m. saw no palm trees at all, but my e6600 8800gts went to single digit FRs. Musta done something
t6ater
- spud - 24.01.2008
I looked through the SFS files but did not find those.
- spud - 24.01.2008
No dice on threes, but I did manage to make this:
It shows up in the object view, but won't place in game for some reason. Musta missed a file. Least I can finally dump the masts. (ideally I'd keep them for their primary role, moving cargo, and delete the sails)
- fabianfred - 24.01.2008
the damaged trees just disappear....no damaged object...so replace with burnt tree..
hock:
- lowfighter - 24.01.2008
Not sure if ALL palm files are in "fb_3do04.sfs" but some of them certainly are :wink:
spud Wrote:I looked through the SFS files but did not find those.
- Willy - 24.01.2008
spud Wrote:No dice on threes, but I did manage to make this:
It shows up in the object view, but won't place in game for some reason. Musta missed a file. Least I can finally dump the masts. (ideally I'd keep them for their primary role, moving cargo, and delete the sails)
An idea might be to just re-skin it and make the sails transparent via the alpha channel?
- ClockWatcher - 24.01.2008
Willy,
Quote:An idea might be to just re-skin it and make the sails transparent via the alpha channel?
What a cracking idea, we could do this with the RDF transmitters and recievers too. Just resize the crane tower and reskin so the jib is transparent (or smaller for the transmitter towers). Hey presto...........a Chain Home TDF mast.
CW
- canonuk - 24.01.2008
I thought of doing that, CW, but I couldn't find the folder that contained the red crane in any of the SFS files
- spud - 24.01.2008
Think the crane is on 08p (the first Pacific Fighters SFS).
- spud - 24.01.2008
lowfighter Wrote:Not sure if ALL palm files are in "fb_3do04.sfs" but some of them certainly are :wink:
spud Wrote:I looked through the SFS files but did not find those.
Doh!
Got it.
How did I miss that!
Now if I can get that splash screen thing to work.
- FC - 24.01.2008
After investigating things a little here is what can and can't be done with objects.
CAN'T
1. We can't merge different objects
2. We can't resize objects
CAN
1. We can "clone" objects
2. We can assign different basic and damage textures
3. We can exchange 3D models between objects
4. We can set object properties at will ( hight above ground, resistance to damage )
5. We can "steal" 3D models from other categories and import them as new objects ( we can take part of the ship and use it as object).
In case of SHIPS we can do much more, we can add or remove parts of ships change their damage model and create new ships just like we would play with LEGO bricks.
In case of BOB maps and new objects there are couple of options, none perfect so we should decide what to do.
As we can't merge objects for complex structures we will need special objects which when put together will give appearance of single object.
There are few drawbacks with this method, for example what to do in case when one object is put on another. In case that lower object is destroyed higher one will stand in air. There is solution for that but it's not as good as having single object.
Good side of this method is that map maker can put those objects in correct places and include it in actors.static.
Different approach is to create new objects but not as Objects, we can create new ships for example and combine different elements to create radar tower. Something similar is already in game, we have those Test runways which are in Ships category.
Drawback is that these objects can't be placed in actors and map makers can't put them in map by default so it will be up to users to put them in missions.
That's it for now, we need to decide which new objects we need and than make them. Objects can be created by anybody but Ships have to be hardcoded. If you want to make new ships than take one of the existing as basis and make your ship out of it, when you finish the job I'll import it in game.
FC
- canonuk - 24.01.2008
spud Wrote:Think the crane is on 08p (the first Pacific Fighters SFS).
I think the red crane came with '46 didn't it?
- spud - 24.01.2008
Oh, maybe, the PF one was red to start I think, then they changed it.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What I learned about Palm trees:
palm1o.tga is the near range texture.
palm1p.tga is the medium range texture.
palm1q.tga is the far range texture.
Palm10.mat is a "full" looking mat:
Code:
[ClassInfo]
ClassName TMaterial
[General]
tfDoubleSide 0
tfShouldSort 0
tfDropShadow 0
tfGameTimer 1
[LightParams]
Ambient 1.0
Diffuse 1.0
Specular 0.0
SpecularPow 0
Shine 0.0
[Layer0]
TextureName palm1o.tga
PaletteName
Frame 0.0
VisibleDistanceNear 0.0
VisibleDistanceFar 10000.0
TextureCoordScale 0.0 0.0 1.0 1.0
ColorScale 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0
AlphaTestVal 0.5 // of [0.1, 0.5, 0.9]
tfWrapX 1
tfWrapY 1
tfMinLinear 1
tfMagLinear 1
tfMipMap 0
tfBlend 0
tfBlendAdd 0
tfTestA 1
tfTestZ 1
tfUpDateClear 0
tfModulate 1
tfNoTexture 0
tfAnimatePalette 0
tfAnimateSkippedFrames 0
tfNoWriteZ 0
tfDepthOffset 0
tfTranspBorder 0
tfTestZEqual 0
The other 2 mats look like this:
palm1p
Code:
[ClassInfo]
ClassName TMaterial
BasedOn palm1o.mat
[Layer0]
TextureName palm1p.tga
tfMipMap 1
palm1q
Code:
[ClassInfo]
ClassName TMaterial
BasedOn palm1o.mat
[Layer0]
TextureName palm1q.tga
tfMipMap 1
tfTestA 0
They have the view distance set to 10,000m like everythign else, why do they pop up so soon...
The dark, single tree in the FMB's mat:
Code:
[ClassInfo]
ClassName TMaterial
[General]
tfDoubleSide 0
tfShouldSort 0
tfDropShadow 0
tfGameTimer 1
[LightParams]
Ambient 1.0
Diffuse 1.0
Specular 0
SpecularPow 0
Shine 0.0
[Layer0]
TextureName tree2x2.tga
PaletteName
Frame 0.0
VisibleDistanceNear 0.0
VisibleDistanceFar 10000.0
TextureCoordScale 0.0 0.0 1.0 1.0
ColorScale 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0
AlphaTestVal 0.5
tfWrapX 1
tfWrapY 1
tfMinLinear 1
tfMagLinear 1
tfMipMap 1
tfBlend 0
tfBlendAdd 0
tfTestA 0
tfTestZ 1
tfUpDateClear 0
tfModulate 1
tfNoTexture 0
tfAnimatePalette 0
tfAnimateSkippedFrames 0
tater
- Willy - 24.01.2008
FC Wrote:After investigating things a little here is what can and can't be done with objects.
CAN'T
1. We can't merge different objects
2. We can't resize objects
CAN
1. We can "clone" objects
2. We can assign different basic and damage textures
3. We can exchange 3D models between objects
4. We can set object properties at will ( hight above ground, resistance to damage )
5. We can "steal" 3D models from other categories and import them as new objects ( we can take part of the ship and use it as object).
In case of SHIPS we can do much more, we can add or remove parts of ships change their damage model and create new ships just like we would play with LEGO bricks.
In case of BOB maps and new objects there are couple of options, none perfect so we should decide what to do.
As we can't merge objects for complex structures we will need special objects which when put together will give appearance of single object.
There are few drawbacks with this method, for example what to do in case when one object is put on another. In case that lower object is destroyed higher one will stand in air. There is solution for that but it's not as good as having single object.
Good side of this method is that map maker can put those objects in correct places and include it in actors.static.
Different approach is to create new objects but not as Objects, we can create new ships for example and combine different elements to create radar tower. Something similar is already in game, we have those Test runways which are in Ships category.
Drawback is that these objects can't be placed in actors and map makers can't put them in map by default so it will be up to users to put them in missions.
That's it for now, we need to decide which new objects we need and than make them. Objects can be created by anybody but Ships have to be hardcoded. If you want to make new ships than take one of the existing as basis and make your ship out of it, when you finish the job I'll import it in game.
FC
That explains allot of things, thanks for this info. Time to open a shipyard (or at least a thread dedicated to the construction of new ships)