Idiot's guide to dissecting map_c??

Okay, I'm stupid.

I put my map_c (saved as an uncompressed .tga greyscale at 1 pixel - 50 m) in a folder with cmap.jar and disect.bat and I right clicked on disect.bat and.......... nothing happened. Well, the disect.bat icon flashed for a millisecond. But the map_c was not dissected and no c_map. table was created.

So what am I doing wrong?

read readme again ....

you need to rename your file as instructed in order to get it dissected ( not as map_C.tga )

Z

Well, just tried that. I renamed to Mymap_c.tga and clicked on transform.bat. But again nothing happened.

The map_c.tga file is divisible 32 x 32 and greyscale and uncompressed. It should be operable.

Is there something wrong with how I am trying to run the .bat program? This is my first time trying to do something like this?

from readme :

2) DISECTING TGA FILE
Place MWmap_c.tga into a folder where
CMap.jar is.
Run:
disect.bat
This will create newMWmap_c.tga and MWmap_c.tga_table files
which are in format which IL2 can understand. MWmap_c.tga can
be any image you modified or created from scratch. MWmap_c.tga
must have dimensions which are multiple of 32x32 (for example
1536x1312) and have color depth of 1 byte (i.e. grayscale image).

Have you got Java installed?

Hi Mandrill,

This one might be easier to use. No Java, .NET or other surplus junk needed. "Old fashioned" complied Windows application (has a manual and it's faster too).

viewtopic.php?t=9486

Make sure there is only one layer in the image.

Are you using GIMP? GIMP appears to have a bug which may tell you that the image only has one layer when, in fact, there are still multiple layers. Go into GIMP and "flatten" the image to ensure that there is only one layer. Then save and try again.

Thanks, Redwulf. I d/l-ed the alternative application and tried it out. I got a little farther along. It opened my map_c.tga and then I attempted to create a map_c.table.