Vintage Aircraft Design & Structure

Hey all,
I'm a Mechanical Engineer with an addiction to aviation. Does anyone know where I can find any infromation on Vintage Aircraft Designs & Structures? More specifically, I'm looking for information/details on wooden designs. And to take it a bit further, I'm particularly interested in wing structures of wooden aircraft from around 1918 - 1940. Some of the questions I'm trying to figure out on these Vintage Wooden Wing-structures are:

- The layout/construction of the Wing
- The layout/construction of the Wing Ribs
- How the Ribs were attached to the Spar(s)***(this is my #1 question)
- How were the stringers attached to the Wing & when did they start using them
- How the fabric was attached to the wing
- The materials used in the Ribs, Spars, Stringers & Fabric
- How the Wings were attached to the Fuselage
- The linkages and mechanisms connecting the Ailerons, Elevators & Rudders to the Control-Stick (basically how the flight control system worked & the mechanisms involved)

I Know that their were many differnt designs and layouts, especially between 1918 -1940, so anything you can provide/recommend will be much appriciated. The more detailed, the better!
Thanks,

CS

All I can say is you should build a Go-229 Glider.

While it may not answer all your questions they are good starting points and reference material.It's also free to download!!Google AC 43.13 and AC 65.15a.

I suggest you go here

http://www.theaerodrome.com/forum/replica-aircraft/

In particular the Replica aircraft section, but other areas of the site aswell.

another good source. http://www.ohtm.org/

csteimel47591 Wrote:Hey all,